Nagaland Police has advertised 1,137 Constable (General Duty) posts, 1,053 regular and 84 backlog, in a notification dated 14 October 2026. Online applications open on 31 October and close on 30 November 2026, so the form is not yet open today. I have not opened the official PDF, so the figures below are as reported by job portals and need checking against it. The physical test and written test dates, the written syllabus, the district-wise and tribe-wise vacancy table, and the 2026 physical standards are not confirmed in anything I found.
What has been announced
The Office of the Director General of Police, Nagaland, Kohima has invited applications for 1,137 Constable (GD) posts through an open rally. Adda247, Testbook, Sarkari Result and Govt Exam Update agree on the headline: Memo No. PHQ (B-II)/RECT/CONSTABLES(GD)/WP(C)/2026/819, dated 14 October 2026. The recruitment is open to male and female candidates from the Indigenous Naga tribes of Nagaland, and nobody else.
The vacancy count has two parts. Testbook and Sarkari Result say 1,053 of the posts are fresh vacancies advertised in compliance with a judgment of the Gauhati High Court, Kohima bench. The other 84 are backlog vacancies carried over from the previous recruitment, which Testbook and Jobsarkariupdate describe as the 2025 drive. The court link is worth noting, because a recruitment tied to a judgment tends to be run strictly by its own rules. The allocation by tribe and district is the part that decides whether a given candidate has a seat to compete for.
Snapshot
| Item | Detail (as reported) |
|---|---|
| Organisation | Nagaland Police (Office of the DGP, Kohima) |
| Post | Constable (General Duty) |
| Vacancies | 1,137 (1,053 regular, 84 backlog) |
| Who can apply | Indigenous Naga tribes of Nagaland, men and women |
| Qualification | Class 6 pass (Backward Tribes) or Class 8 pass (other Naga tribes) |
| Age | 18 to 37 years |
| Fee | ₹300, non-refundable |
| Pay | Level 3 |
| Selection | Physical/medical standards, physical efficiency test, written test, interview, NCC marks where applicable |
| Application opens | 31 October 2026 |
| Last date | 30 November 2026 |
Dates
The notification is dated 14 October 2026. The online application window opens on 31 October and closes on 30 November 2026. The dates of the physical test and the written examination are to be announced.
The eight days between today and 31 October are the most useful time in this cycle, and many candidates will waste them. Certificates are the slow part of any state police recruitment. The form can be filled in an evening, but an Indigenous Inhabitant Certificate or a tribe certificate may need an office visit and a wait. Use this week to collect papers, so that on opening day you are only filling in a form.
Vacancies and why the allocation matters
The notice divides the 1,053 regular posts by the tribal ratio, which Jobsarkariupdate says is based on the 2011 Census. The vacancies are then allocated by district and by tribe. Adda247 tells candidates to select the eligible district according to the official vacancy allocation when they apply.
The consequence is that the headline of 1,137 posts overstates your own chances in one way and understates them in another. It overstates them because you are not competing for 1,137 seats. You compete for the seats allotted to your tribe in your district. It understates them if your tribe has a large allocation where you live. The table that shows those numbers is in the official advertisement, and none of the portals I read reproduces it in full. Find your tribe and district in the PDF before you do anything else, since that number is your real vacancy count.
The 84 backlog posts add another layer. The reports do not say which tribes or districts they belong to, or why they were left unfilled. Read how the PDF treats them, because a backlog post may be restricted to a particular category.
Who can apply: indigenous status
Only Indigenous Naga tribes of Nagaland are eligible. Adda247 states that non-indigenous applicants are not eligible. The document that proves your status is the Indigenous Inhabitant Certificate, together with a Scheduled Tribe or Backward Tribe certificate where applicable. The certificates have to meet the issuing-authority requirements in the notice, which I have not seen.
Two cautions. First, your tribe on the certificate must match the tribe you select on the form, because the vacancies are allocated by tribe. Second, check the names on every document. A spelling difference between your Class 8 certificate, your tribe certificate and your identity proof is a common reason for a candidate to be asked to explain, or to lose a place, at document verification.
Education
The reported minimum qualification depends on your tribe category. Candidates from Backward Tribes need a Class 6 pass. Candidates from other Indigenous Naga tribes need a Class 8 pass. Adda247 says the certificate should be issued by the Nagaland Board of School Education or an equivalent recognised board.
That is a low bar, which means the competition is decided by physical performance and the written test rather than by marks. It also means the pool is large and varied, with candidates of very different schooling. If you studied under a board other than the Nagaland board, check what the notice accepts as equivalent and arrange any certificate you need before the form opens.
Age limit
The reported age range is 18 to 37 years, calculated as on 14 October 2026, according to Adda247. Age relaxation for serving government employees and other cases follows the advertisement and relevant government orders. The reports do not detail how much relaxation applies or to whom.
An upper age of 37 is far higher than in most police recruitments. For you, that has a practical meaning. The physical tests are the same for a 20-year-old and a 36-year-old, so an older candidate carries a larger fitness burden unless the standards are age-graded, and the reports do not say they are. If you are in your thirties, prepare for the physical stage as seriously as the written one.
Physical standards
Adda247 lists a minimum height of 162 centimetres for men and 152 centimetres for women, with weight proportionate to height under the medical standards, and a chest measurement for men as prescribed. It also states that these measurements are based on the department’s previous Constable (GD) standards and that candidates must confirm the requirement in the 2026 advertisement.
That caveat matters. A portal that copies last cycle’s height figure may be right, or it may be a centimetre or two out, and a candidate who is close to the line cannot afford to rely on it. Measure yourself accurately, ideally in the morning when you are tallest, and compare against the standards in the PDF. If there is a relaxation for certain tribes, the PDF will say so. I would not assume one.
The physical efficiency test events and the qualifying standards are not reported. Typical police tests involve running, a jump and a throw or similar, but I have no basis to say which events Nagaland uses this year.
Selection process
The reported stages are the physical and medical standards test, the physical efficiency test, a written examination, an interview, and marks for an NCC certificate where applicable, followed by final selection under the rules. Naukripatra describes the process as an open rally.
What stands out is that there is an interview alongside the written test. Some state police constable recruitments stop at written and physical tests. An interview means that part of the final score depends on how you present yourself, so it is not a stage to improve at the last minute. The reports do not say how marks are divided among the written test, the interview and NCC marks, or whether the physical tests are only qualifying. The PDF should carry the marks distribution.
Also unknown: the written test’s subjects, number of questions, duration and negative marking, plus the interview’s weight. Watch the official portal for the detailed scheme before you spend money on any course. Where an NCC certificate adds marks, that is a real advantage for those who hold one, so locate your certificate if you have it.
Pay
The reports say the post carries Pay Level 3, a grade pay of ₹1,800 and a pay band of ₹5,200 to ₹20,200, along with allowances under government rules. That wording mixes two systems. Pay band and grade pay come from an older pay structure, while pay levels belong to the newer pay matrix, so the notice may be quoting both. Whether Nagaland pays on the central pay matrix or on its own scale is not stated, and no basic figure is reported. Do not trust a portal that gives an exact in-hand salary.
The practical advice is to read the pay clause of the PDF, and if it gives only a pay band and grade pay, ask what the current basic pay is at Level 3 in the state’s pay rules. The post is described as regular, with a two-year probation according to Naukripatra, which matters more to most candidates than the exact starting number.
Application fee
The reported fee is ₹300, paid online, and non-refundable. Bank charges may be extra, according to one portal. The reports do not say whether any category is exempt or pays less, so check the fee clause for your own category before paying.
Non-refundable fees punish mistakes. Pay only after you have confirmed your tribe, district and eligibility on the form, and keep the payment receipt together with your confirmation.
How to apply
The steps reported by Adda247 are as follows.
- Open the Nagaland Police recruitment portal.
- Complete the one-time registration with the required details.
- Add your educational qualifications and upload the necessary documents.
- Open the Constable (GD) Recruitment 2026 application.
- Select the eligible district according to the official vacancy allocation.
- Fill in your personal and educational details.
- Upload your photograph, signature and certificates.
- Pay the ₹300 fee online.
- Review everything and submit.
- Save the receipt and the confirmation.
Do the registration step as soon as the portal opens, and do not leave the payment for the final day. Portals handling a statewide recruitment tend to slow down in the last days.
Documents to have ready
The reported list includes the Class 6 or Class 8 certificate and mark sheet, proof of date of birth, the Indigenous Inhabitant Certificate, a Scheduled Tribe or Backward Tribe certificate where applicable, an identity proof such as Aadhaar, PAN or a driving licence, a recent passport-size photograph, a signature, and other documents the advertisement specifies. If you hold an NCC certificate, add it.
Scan everything at a readable size now. The most common upload failures are a photograph or signature outside the size limits and a certificate scan that cuts off the issuing authority’s seal. Your date of birth and your tribe must read the same on every document.
Check the portal before you register
The reports name two web addresses for applying. Adda247 points to police.nagaland.gov.in, which is the department’s official site. Another listing, from Centralstatejobs, gives nagalandpolicerecruitment.in. I cannot confirm which one hosts the form, and both may be genuine. Because state police recruitments attract imitation sites that collect fees, start from police.nagaland.gov.in and follow the link there. Do not register through a forwarded message, and never pay the ₹300 anywhere except the payment page inside the application.
Preparing: eight days, then thirty
This is my suggestion, since the syllabus and the physical events are not published.
Before 31 October: collect your certificates, measure your height, scan your documents, and read the PDF for your tribe and district allocation. Start physical training now, because endurance cannot be built in the last week.
Between 31 October and the physical test: train for running first, since endurance is the most common reason for failure in police physical tests, and add strength work for the legs and shoulders. Increase distance gradually, rest properly, and do not train to injury. If you are unsure about your fitness, get a basic check-up before you start hard training, and train with someone who can notice if you are struggling. Early morning running is common, but practise at the time of day the test is likely to be held once the schedule is announced.
For the written test: until the scheme is published, revise the basics that most constable papers cover, such as general knowledge, simple arithmetic, reasoning and language skills, using your Class 8 and Class 10 material as the base. Read about Nagaland, its tribes, districts and history, because an interview for a state police post may draw on local knowledge.
For the interview: practise answering plain questions about yourself, your district and why you want the job, in clear sentences.
Where candidates lose their place
In a recruitment with a physical stage, a certificate stage and a tribe-based allocation, the losses are rarely about intelligence. They come from a short list of avoidable problems.
A tribe on the certificate that differs from the tribe selected on the form. A district chosen without checking whether the tribe has any seats there. An Indigenous Inhabitant Certificate from an authority the notice does not accept. A photograph or signature that fails the upload rules and gets noticed only on the last day. A height measured in shoes and then found short at the standards test. And, for candidates in their thirties, arriving at the physical test with no training behind them, on the assumption that the age limit of 37 means the tests will be gentle.
Each of these can be checked in advance, for free, in the next eight days. That is the main advice in this article.
What is not yet known
- The tribe-wise and district-wise vacancy table.
- The 2026 physical standards and PET events.
- The written test syllabus, pattern and dates.
- How marks are divided across stages, including the interview and NCC marks.
- Fee concessions, if any, and age relaxation details.
- Which web address hosts the application form.
Nagaland Police Constable Syllabus 2026 Important Links
| Description | Official Link |
|---|---|
| Nagaland Police Constable GD Recruitment 2026 | View Official 2026 Advertisement |
| Nagaland Police Recruitment Updates | View Latest Updates |
| Nagaland Police Official Website | Visit Official Website |
FAQs
I am a Naga from another state. Can I apply? The reports say the recruitment is for Indigenous Naga tribes of Nagaland, and that non-indigenous applicants are not eligible. Eligibility depends on the Indigenous Inhabitant Certificate and the notice’s own definition, so read it before applying.
Which district should I choose? Adda247 says to select the eligible district according to the official vacancy allocation. Check the table in the PDF for your tribe and choose accordingly, as the seats are allotted by tribe and district.
Is there a written test or only physical tests? Both. The reported stages include the physical and medical standards test, the physical efficiency test, a written examination and an interview. The dates are not announced.
Is the height requirement 162 cm for men? Adda247 gives 162 cm for men and 152 cm for women but says these are taken from earlier recruitment standards. Confirm against the 2026 advertisement before you rely on the number.
Can I apply today? No. The online window opens on 31 October 2026 and runs to 30 November 2026.